Dedicated To You

Concord Records | 2009

Recorded live at Lincoln Center, and was a showcase for Elling at his most expansive. The concert was built on arrangements created by long-time collaborator Hobgood for voice, rhythm section, the Ethel Quartet and tenor saxophonist Ernie Watts. Released in June of 2009, the recording was praised by Billboard as “a moving tribute to legends lost and a portrait of a gifted artist in his own right at the peak of his creative powers.” The BBC declared, “Elling is just as engaging and creative working with standards as he is when he’s turning a Walt Whitman poem into vocal art.” Following Grammy nominations for every record made as a leader, Elling finally received a Grammy in the “Best Jazz Vocal Album” category.

Track Listing

  • All or Nothing at All
  • It's Easy to Remember (A Jazz Story Memory)
  • Dedicated to You
  • What's New (Instrumental)
  • Lush Life
  • Autumn Serenade
  • Say It (Over and Over Again)
  • They Say It's Wonderful
  • My One and Only Love
  • Nancy With the Laughing Face
  • Acknowledgements
  • You Are Too Beautiful


Kurt Elling: Voice
Laurence Hobgood: Piano
Clark Sommers: bass
Ulysses Owens: drums
Ernie Watts: Tenor Saxophone (1, 4-7, 10 & 12)

Cornelius Dufallo: violin
Ralph Farris: viola
Dorothy Lawson: cello
Mary Rowell: violin