Kurt Elling Wins 2010 Nightlife Award!

The 2010 Nightlife Awards have named Kurt Elling as Outstanding Jazz Vocalist in a Major Engagement.
Now in its eighth year, the Nightlife Awards honor the best of New York’s cabaret, comedy, and jazz, bestowed by a distinguished panel of more than two dozen critics and experts. The awards concert is the only show where the winners perform, rather than give acceptance speeches, showing why they were selected.

Kurt and Laurence Hobgood will perform at the awards ceremony at Town Hall in New York City on January 25, 2010 at 7:00 pm.

Comedy writer and actor Bruce Vilanch is hosting. Among the evening’s winners performing are Christine Ebersole, Cheyenne Jackson, Kurt Elling, Eric Comstock & Barbara Fasano, Anne Steele, Baby Jane Dexter, Johnny Rodgers, and Gretchen Reinhagen. Other winners include Michael Feinstein, Sheila Jordan, Hank Jones, Bad Plus, Louis CK, John Mulaney and Slovin and Allen.

Additional performers include Miranda, John Piazzarelli and Jessica Molaskey, James Barbour, Jim Caruso, Tovah Feldshuh, Howard Fishman, Nellie McKay, Jay Leonhart, Noah Racey & the NY Tap Ensemble, and Martin Vidnovic.

Ticketing and other information for this star-studded evening is here.

As always, congratulations, Kurt!