Register    Log in  Reply Start A New Topic View Topics
 Author   Message 
withsong

Sheet music of My Foolish Heart?
Fri Oct 20, 2017 7:31 pm
Hi all,

I'm new to Kurt's website. Smile I started listening to his music from his "My Foolish Heart". I wish somewhere out there where I could find the sheet music (maybe for a trio with voice or something) of this song though. It's beautiful and one of my favorites. If any of you guys know the place, could you please let me know? Smile Thank you very much!

Sam

P+T

My Foolish Heart/Moth (SSATB)
Sun Oct 22, 2017 5:22 pm
Welcome. withsong!

Alas, My Foolish Heart is not one of the charts for sale in Kurt's Store (kurtelling.com/store), as you've probably discovered.

However, you're in luck!

In the middle of the night I remembered that arranger Kerry Marsh has done several KE tunes for vocal ensembles (SATB, etc) and sells those on his website.

Here's what he has for My Foolish Heart. Not cheap, but I believe it's what you're looking for. L4 means its difficulty level is 4.

Quote:
This arrangement was the winning submission in the first of three "Marsh Madness" tournaments to determine which charts I'd write, and the winning submitter was Sally Greenaway. The chart is based on Kurt Elling's version of the standard (arranged by Laurence Hobgood, his pianist and collaborator, as well), with the inserted "Moth" poem by Rabia, an 8th century mystic from Basra, Iraq.

Notated and chord chart piano, notated bass (with chords), drums

My Foolish Heart/Moth (SSATB - L4)
https://kerrymarshvocaljazz.myshopify.com/collections/vocal-jazz-ensemble-arrangement/products/my-foolish-heart-moth-ssatb-l4

~ Trudy Cool

withsong

Sun Oct 22, 2017 10:02 pm
Thank you P+T!

Yes I've discovered his arrangement, but it's just super expensive >_< and I only need the cheat sheet or a chord chart lol instead of a full vocal ensemble score... But I guess that's my only option unless I transcribe myself lol. Thank you still P+T!

P+T